Skip to main content

Rock Island - MilanSchool District #41

Main Menu Toggle

Two RIMSD Teachers Receive State Awards

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has released its 2023 "Those Who Excel Awards" winner.
RIMSD teachers Mike Mertel and Rita Jett both received awards.
Ms. Jett who is a teacher at Edison Jr. High School received the Award of Special Recognition. This award is given to educators who have connected with their school community and made a positive impact. Those who work closely with these educators can attest to their skills, passions, and talents.  
Mr. Mertel is a teacher at Rock Island High School and received the Award of Meritorious Service. That award is given to educators who have shaped their school community for the better. These educators frequently employ their talents and passions but also strive to be of service in unfamiliar domains. They have taken on leadership opportunities and their accomplishments are known and valued by multiple populations: colleagues, students, parents, and school leaders.   
ISBE sponsors the Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year program to honor educators who have made significant contributions to our state's public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. Awards are presented in seven categories: classroom teachers, early career educators (teachers 1-4 years), school administrators, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteers, and teams.
Application materials are evaluated by a selection committee composed of individuals who represent a variety of educational organizations. 
All awardees are honored at an annual banquet in the Spring. 
Congratulations Ms. Jett and Mr. Mertel!