Skip to main content

Rock Island - MilanSchool District #41

Main Menu Toggle

RIMSD 2024 Educator of the Year Gala

RIMSD#41 teachers, principals, colleagues, administrators, and family members gathered at the Stern Center on Friday, April 12, 2024, to celebrate educators at the 4th annual Educator of the Year Gala.
Over the past five years, Rock Island-Milan School District #41 has worked to ensure that our educators would receive special recognition for the incredible impact that they have had on our entire student population.  
View photo album>>
The purpose of the award is to recognize the outstanding teachers from each school in our district. Each principal selected a teacher who is a tremendous support for students and demonstrates what it takes to be an outstanding teacher amongst their peers. 
To be considered for an Educator of the Year, a person must exhibit the following criteria:
  • The educator must have taught for at least five years.
  • The educator must have evidenced exemplary skills in instructing children/young adults.
  • The educator must strongly believe that all children/young adults can and will learn.
  • The educator has continually shown evidence of self-motivation in seeking and engaging in professional growth activities for the purpose of improving and/or enhancing his or her educational offerings to children/young adults.
  • The educator makes teaching and learning rigorous and exciting for children/young adults.
The Master of Ceremonies for the event was Redrick Terry, RIMSD Director of Communications and Rocky grad. Speakers included Interim Superintendent Lanty McGuire and Mike Matherly, Vice President of the Board of Education. 
"Being an educator can sometimes be a thankless job so we wanted to say THANK YOU. Thank
you for going above and beyond for our students and our families, for the countless hours you put into making sure our students succeed, and for providing a safe and caring environment for them. Your work does not go unnoticed," said Mr. McGuire.
There was also an incredible performance by the Rock Island High School Chamber Singers. Each Honoree was then announced and escorted to the stage by their school principal. An excerpt from their nomination was read while they received their award.
Congratulations to our 2024 Educator of the Year Honorees:  Janine Olson - Denkmann, Stacy Rohm - Earl Hanson, Liz Kongkousonh - Eugene Field, Val Matson - Frances Willard, Maggi Voss - Longfellow, Liz Hughes - Ridgewood, Jamie Ruberg - Rock Island Academy, Julie Hansen - Rock Island Center for Math & Science, Tiffany Versluis - Thomas Jefferson, Linnea Sparacello - Horace Mann Early Learning Center, Jennifer Trenary - Edison Jr. High School, Kimberly Laingen - Washington Jr. High School, Amanda Crecelius - Thurgood Marshall Learning Center, and Courtney Stone - Rock Island High School. 
You can read what their nominations had to say by clicking the PDF below!

Attached Files