Skip to main content

Rock Island - MilanSchool District #41

Main Menu Toggle

2024 Medal of Honor Award Winners

The purpose of this award is to honor outstanding students who have proven themselves to be all-around good students, good citizens, and caring individuals who bring with them a positive force that helps to influence the school to be a better place to learn and grow.

Each school in the district asked its faculty to select students based on the following criteria: makes the most of his/her talents; makes others a priority and demonstrates this by helping without being asked; volunteers his/her time, energy, and talents to the school; has a consistently positive attitude; exhibits a good sense of humor; respects himself/ herself and others; is honest; demonstrates commitment and responsibility through good work habits, attendance, discipline, and on-time behavior; and listens to the needs and concerns of others.
The district had programs translated and interpreters at the event available for our EL families. The keynote speaker this year was Dr. LaShanta Williams. Dr. Williams is the district's EL/Bilingual Coordinator. 
Read the full nominations in the attachment below.
The following students received awards:
• Denkmann Elementary: Nishimwe Alikey, Jack Jester, Saw Solomon Klain Phan Lynn, Rebekah Shoemaker
• Earl Hanson Elementary: Myles Davis, Priya Patel, Eh Htoo Say
• Eugene Field Elementary: Vada Calsyn, Morgan Dieudonne, Carmelo Taylor, Penny Witherspoon
• Frances Willard Elementary: Serenity Nelson, April Paw, Alik Winters, 
 Longfellow Liberal Arts: Sophie Baugher, Ryder Houston, 
 Ridgewood Elementary: Jordan McMurray, Jazmynn Babers
 Rock Island Academy: Kelsi Bell, Stephen Kim, Loi Loi, Stephane Ramadhani
Rock Island Center for Math & Science: Stephany Kakozi, Matilda Macias, Alexa Morales, Samantha Olson
• Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Brian Brand, Xenius Casco, Alexis Marshall
• Edison Junior High School: Meshaki "Shak" Kundura, Jenny Paw, Joseph Tavernier, Gabriella Wailand
• Washington Junior High School: Calla Kean, Luke Phares
• Rock Island High School: Neima Childs-Johnson, Lauren Groene, Ni Tha Blay Htoo, Madelynn Kress, Lumumba Mkambilwa, Man Nuam, Nyx King, Eh Eh Poe, Truth Vesey, Nuam Zuun
Thurgood Marshall Learning Center: Skyah (Moon) Haynes

Attached Files